BRICCOLE DI VENEZIA

The handle scales are made of the oak wood of Venetian gondola poles (briccole). These poles are replaced every 100 years. And so some of these stakes found their way to Solingen in the knife manufactory of GÜDE. This special edition, limited to four knives, brings the incomparable flair of the Italian lagoon metropolis into the kitchen.

BRICCOLE DI VENEZIA Brochure

Like all the knives in the Alpha series, the blade of the Briccole di Venezia series is hand-forged from one piece of chrome-vanadium-molybdenum knife steel. More than 40 further manual operations by hand are necessary to produce a unique piece of Solingen knifemaking art. Due to the wooden handles, these knives should not be put in the dishwasher. The blade is stainless, ice-hardened and of course hand-sharpened.

Knives Solingen, Güde knives, chef's knives Solingen, knife set, sharpening steel, solinger knives
Knives Solingen, Güde knives, chef's knives Solingen, knife set, sharpening steel, solinger knives

Material

The blade material of knives must sometimes fulfil contradictory requirements. It is therefore crucial to weigh up the different requirements and ensure an optimum. On the one hand, the knife steel should be hard, but not too hard, otherwise there is a risk that the blade will break under heavy use. On the other hand, the knife steel should also not be too soft, as the knife would lose its sharpness too quickly in use due to constant wear. That is why the knives in the Briccole di Venezia series from GÜDE are made of a chrome-molybdenum-vanadium knife steel. This steel perfectly meets the sometimes contradictory requirements with an optimum hardness of approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell).

The hardness of the knife steel of the Briccole di Venezia series of 57-58 HRc is not too hard and not too soft for the different requirements that a good knife must meet.
Such a degree of hardness makes the blade of knives from the Briccole di Venezia series torsionally stiff, thus guaranteeing precise guidance of the knife and thus a precise cut. But even a hard steel, such as the GÜDE knife steel, can be ground very thin. In this way, even a hard steel can be very flexible.

Production

All knives in the Briccole di Venezia series are traditionally drop-forged - from one piece of steel. The result of this traditional technology of drop forging is a particularly high material strength even when the knife is subjected to dynamic stresses. During the forging process, the entire forging blank is heated in the die until it glows red and is then deformed between the two dies, the upper and lower die. In further detail-oriented manual work steps, the drop-forged blank is turned into a unique piece from the knife manufactory GÜDE - handmade.

After they have been forged, the knives are stamped out of the forging blank and then roughly ground, calibrated and cleaned. This is followed by so-called ice-hardening: the knives are cooled to -80 °C to improve the structure of the microstructure in the blade steel. In the next step, the knives are tempered in two stages. Tempering is a term used by the knife makers in Solingen. Tempering means that the knife is heated again and thus made unbreakable. Now the blade is pre-ground. This is followed by the pre-grinding of the back of the knife, which is the upper part of the knife. This is followed by the fine grinding of the back of the knife and the sharpening of the bolster. The Solingen knife makers call the bolster the thickening between the blade and the handle and at the end of the handle. The insides of the two handle half-shells are now pre-ground. Pre-grinding the front and rear bolsters takes another 5 steps. Only then can the blade be fine-ground. The Solingen knifemaker also calls this "pliesten". This gives the blade its distinctive surface. The special GÜDE serrated edge is now applied to the bread knives. The handle scales made from the wood of Venetian gondola poles with their distinctive grain are now fitted to the left and right of the knife handle. Then the holes for the rivets are drilled. A countersink must be drilled in the holes for the rivet heads. The two wooden handle scales and the tang made of the GÜDE blade steel are now firmly joined together with rivets. Another five or so operations are required to roughly grind the handle scales to the tang and the front and rear bolsters so that the transitions between wood and steel are smooth. These five steps must then be repeated with a finer abrasive belt. Now the upper part of the knife, the back, gets its fine grinding. This is followed by the finest grinding of the front bolster. Then the knife handles are pre-polished. The central decorative rivet is inserted and the handles are finely polished. Only now does the knife get its sharpness trigger, because the knife edge, also called the bevel, is now sharpened (the knifemaker calls this "honing"). The trigger is polished so that the blade slides better through the material to be cut. In the next step, the GÜDE logo is etched onto the blade. Cleaning and quality control are the final operations. After that, the knives receive a sheath for protection. Last but not least, the shipping bags are provided with rivets and the labels belonging to the series and the blade type. The finished knives are now stored and ready for shipping.

Form

The technology of forging in the die creates degrees of freedom in the design language. From the end of the handle to the tip of the knife, shapes can be realised that would not be feasible in any other forging technology. Thus, a design language like that of Alpha is only possible in the drop forging process. This explains impressively why GÜDE has remained true to this proven and traditional technology since its founding in 1910, now in its fourth generation.
An unmistakable feature of many series from the knife manufacturer GÜDE is the typical double bolster. Kropf is the Solingen knifemakers' term for the thickening of the blade steel that is achieved during forging. The (front) bolster between the blade and the handle protects the fingers and also serves as a balance weight.
The additional bolster at the end of the handle gives the knives of the Briccole di Venezia series their balance. For the user, this means: pleasant and fatigue-free work at the same time.

The term tang refers to the part of the steel to which the two handle scales of the Briccole di Venezia series are attached on the left and right. When the tang goes from the blade to the end of the handle, it is called a full tang. All knives in the Briccole di Venezia series from GÜDE have a full tang, which gives the knives a better balance of weight.
Visible over the entire length of the handle, both from above and below, the full tang is proof that the knives in the Briccole di Venezia series are forged in one piece. No material transition, no seam - just as it must be with a knife that has been drop-forged from one piece.

Function

A good knife should not only be sharp, it should also stay sharp for as long as possible. A good knife should also lie well in the hand and be balanced so that fatigue-free and safe work is guaranteed at all times.
Sharpness and edge retention of the Briccole di Venezia series are ensured both by the optimum hardness of the GÜDE blade steel with approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) and by the GÜDE bevel angle of approx. 33 degrees. The shape of the handle, the full tang and the double bolster typical of GÜDE make the knives in the Briccole di Venezia series a reliable tool that guarantees perfect handling and balance.

Sharpness and edge retention are determined not only by the blade material but also by the bevel angle: cutting is like driving a wedge through a material to be cut. The more acute the angle of the wedge, i.e. the bevel angle, the easier it is to drive the wedge through the material to be cut. The term "bevel" is the term used by Solingen knifemakers for the cutting edge, i.e. the sharply ground part of a knife. An acute bevel angle makes a knife sharper than a blunt bevel angle. If the bevel angle is too acute, however, the bevel can break. That is why the knives in the Briccole di Venezia series from GÜDE have an optimum bevel angle of approx. 33 degrees. This angle guarantees both sharpness and stability. The chrome-molybdenum-vanadium blade steel of the Briccole di Venezia series guarantees long-lasting sharpness with its hardness of approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell). It is important to always cut on a suitable cutting surface, e.g. wood or plastic. The almost proverbial balance of the knives in the Briccole di Venezia series is a result of the double bolster in combination with the full tang, which creates a counterweight to the blade in the area of the handle. For the user this means: Perfect balance and fatigue-free work with a secure grip at all times. The front and rear bolsters enclose the hand and protect it from slipping, even when greater force is applied.

The knives in the Briccole di Venezia series deliver what knife lovers expect from a perfect knife. Handcrafted, drop-forged from a single piece, with the experience of centuries of Solingen knifemaking.

Knives Solingen, Güde knives, chef's knives Solingen, knife set, sharpening steel, solinger knives

Bread knife233,00

Blade length 32cm / V431/32
left-handed version: V431/32L / 253 €
R/L variant: V431/32RL / 275 €

BRICCOLE DI VENEZIA

Die Griffschalen bestehen aus dem Eichen-Holz venezianischer GondelpfĂ€hle (Briccole). Diese PfĂ€hle werden alle 100 Jahre ausgetauscht. Und so fanden einige dieser PfĂ€hle den Weg nach Solingen in die Messer-Manufaktur von GÜDE. Diese auf vier Messer limitierte Sonderedition bringt das unvergleichliche Flair der italienischen Lagunenmetropole in die KĂŒche.

BRICCOLE DI VENEZIA BroschĂŒre

Wie alle Messer der Alpha-Serien, so ist auch die Klinge der Serie Briccole di Venezia aus Chrom-Vanadium-MolybdĂ€n Messerstahl aus einem StĂŒck Stahl von Hand geschmiedet. Mehr als 40 weitere manuelle ArbeitsgĂ€nge von Hand sind notwendig, um daraus ein Unikat Solinger Messermacher-Kunst zu fertigen. Aufgrund der Holzgriffe sollten diese Messer nicht in den GeschirrspĂŒler. Die Klinge ist rostfrei, eisgehĂ€rtet und natĂŒrlich handgeschĂ€rft.

Messer Solingen, Güde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer
Messer Solingen, Güde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer

Material

Das Klingenmaterial von Messern muss zum Teil widersprĂŒchliche Anforderungen erfĂŒllen. Daher ist es entscheidend, zwischen den verschiedenen Anforderungen abzuwĂ€gen und ein Optimum sicher zu stellen. Einerseits soll der Messerstahl hart sein, aber nicht zu hart, da ansonsten die Gefahr besteht, dass die Klinge bei hoher Beanspruchung bricht. Andererseits aber soll der Messerstahl auch nicht zu weich sein, da durch laufende Abnutzung das Messer im Gebrauch zu schnell an SchĂ€rfe verlieren wĂŒrde. Deshalb sind die Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia von GÜDE aus einem Chrom- MolybdĂ€n-Vanadium-Messerstahl hergestellt. Dieser Stahl erfĂŒllt die zum Teil widersprĂŒchlichen Anforderungen perfekt mit einer optimalen HĂ€rte von ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell).

Die HĂ€rte des Messerstahls der Serie Briccole di Venezia von 57-58 HRc ist nicht zu hart und nicht zu weich fĂŒr die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen, die ein gutes Messer erfĂŒllen muss.
Ein solcher HĂ€rtegrad macht die Klinge von Messern der Serie Briccole di Venezia verwindungssteif, damit ist ein exaktes FĂŒhren des Messers und damit ein prĂ€ziser Schnitt garantiert. Aber auch ein harter Stahl, wie der GÜDE Messerstahl, kann sehr dĂŒnn ausgeschliffen werden. So kann auch ein harter Stahl sehr flexibel sein.

Herstellung

Alle Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia sind traditionell im Gesenk geschmiedet – aus einem StĂŒck Stahl. Ergebnis dieser traditionsreichen Technologie des Gesenkschmiedens ist eine besonders hohe Materialfestigkeit auch bei dynamischen Beanspruchungen des Messers. Der gesamte Schmiede-Rohling wird beim Schmieden im Gesenk erhitzt bis er rot glĂŒht und anschließend zwischen den beiden Gesenken, dem Ober- und dem Untergesenk, verformt. In weiteren detailorientierten manuellen Arbeitsschritten wird aus dem im Gesenk geschmiedeten Rohling ein Unikat aus der Messer-Manufaktur GÜDE – handgefertigt.

Nachdem sie geschmiedet wurden, werden die Messer aus dem Schmiederohling ausgestanzt und anschließend grob geschliffen, kalibriert und gereinigt. Es folgt das sogenannte EishĂ€rten: Dabei werden die Messer auf -80 °C abgekĂŒhlt, um die Struktur des GefĂŒges im Klingenstahl zu verbessern. Im darauffolgenden Schritt werden die Messer in zwei Stufen angelassen. Anlassen ist ein Begriff der Solinger Messer-Macher. Anlassen bedeutet, dass das Messer noch einmal erhitzt und damit bruchsicher gemacht wird. Jetzt wird das Klingenblatt vorgeschliffen. Es folgt das Vorschleifen des MesserrĂŒckens, das ist der obere Teils des Messers. Es schließt sich der Feinschliff des MesserrĂŒckens und das Spitzschleifen des Kropfes an. Als Kropf bezeichnen die Solinger Messer-Macher die Verdickung zwischen Klinge und Griff sowie am Griffende. Die Innenseiten der beiden Griff-Halbschalen werden nun vorgeschliffen. Das Vorschleifen der vorderen und hinteren Kröpfe nimmt weitere 5 Arbeitsschritte in Anspruch. Danach erst kann das Klingenblatt feingeschliffen werden. Dies nennt der Solinger Messermacher auch „pliesten“. Auf diese Weise erhĂ€lt das Klingenblatt seine unverkennbare OberflĂ€che. Bei den Brotmessern wird nun der spezielle GÜDE Wellenschliff angebracht. Die Griffschalen aus dem Holz venezianischer GondelpfĂ€hle mit ihrer ausgeprĂ€gten Maserung werden nun links und rechts an den Messergriff angepasst. Daraufhin werden die Löcher fĂŒr die Nieten gebohrt. FĂŒr die Nietenköpfe muss eine Senkung in den Löchern gebohrt werden. Die beiden Griffschalen aus Holz und der Erl aus dem GÜDE Klingenstahl werden nun durch Nieten fest miteinander verbunden. Weitere ca. fĂŒnf ArbeitsgĂ€nge sind erforderlich, um die Griffschalen grob an den Erl sowie den vorderen und den hinteren Kropf so beizuschleifen, dass die ÜbergĂ€nge zwischen Holz und Stahl fließend sind. Mit einem feineren Schleifband mĂŒssen diese fĂŒnf Arbeitsschritte anschließend wiederholt werden. Jetzt bekommt der obere Teil des Messer, der RĂŒcken seinen Feinstschliff. Das Feinstschleifen des vorderen Kropfes schließt sich an. Dann werden die Messergriffe vorpoliert. Die mittlere Schmuckniete wird eingesetzt und die Griffe werden feinpoliert. Jetzt erst bekommt das Messer seinen SchĂ€rfe-Abzug, denn die Messerschneide, auch Wate genannt, wird nun geschliffen (der Messermacher nennt das „abgezogen“). Der Abzug wird poliert, so dass die Wate besser durch das Schneidgut gleitet. Im nĂ€chsten Schritt wird das GÜDE Logo auf die Klinge geĂ€tzt. Reinigung und QualitĂ€tskontrolle sind die letzten ArbeitsgĂ€nge. Danach erhalten die Messer zum Schutz eine HĂŒlle. Zu guter Letzt werden die Versandtaschen mit Nieten und den zur Serie und zum Klingentyp gehörigen Etiketten versehen. Die fertigen Messer werden nun eingelagert und sind fĂŒr den Versand bereit.

Form

Die Technologie des Schmiedens im Gesenk schafft Freiheitsgrade in der Formensprache. Vom Griffende bis zur Messerspitze können Formen realisiert werden, die in einer anderen Schmiede-Technologie nicht machbar wĂ€ren. So ist eine Formensprache wie bei Alpha nur im Gesenkschmiede-Verfahren möglich. Das erklĂ€rt eindrucksvoll, weshalb GÜDE dieser bewĂ€hrten und traditionellen Technologie seit dem GrĂŒndungsjahr 1910 nun schon in vierter Generation treu geblieben ist.
Unverkennbares Merkmal vieler Serien aus der Messer-Manufaktur GÜDE ist der typische Doppelkropf. Kropf ist die Bezeichnung der Solinger Messermacher fĂŒr die Verdickung des Klingenstahls, die beim Schmieden erzielt wird. Der (vordere) Kropf zwischen Klinge und Griff schĂŒtzt die Finger und dient gleichzeitig als Balancegewicht.
Der zusĂ€tzliche Kropf am Ende des Griffes verleiht den Messern der Serie Briccole di Venezia ihre ausgewogene Balance. FĂŒr den Anwender heißt das: Angenehmes und ermĂŒdungsfreies Arbeiten zugleich.

Der Begriff Erl bezeichnet den Teil des Stahls, an dem die beiden Griffschalen des Messers der Serie Briccole di Venezia links und rechts befestigt werden. Wenn der Erl von der Klinge bis zum Ende des Griffes geht, so spricht man vom sogenannten Voll-Erl. Alle Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia von GÜDE haben einen Voll-Erl. Dieser verleiht den Messern eine bessere Ausbalancierung des Gewichts.
Über die gesamte GrifflĂ€nge sowohl von oben als auch von unten komplett sichtbar, liefert der Voll-Erl quasi den Beweis, dass die Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia aus einem StĂŒck geschmiedet sind. Kein MaterialĂŒbergang, keine Naht – eben so, wie es bei einem Messer, das aus einem StĂŒck im Gesenk geschmiedet wurde, sein muss.

Funktion

Ein gutes Messer sollte nicht nur scharf sein, es sollte auch möglichst lange scharf bleiben. Ein gutes Messer soll darĂŒber hinaus gut in der Hand liegen und ausbalanciert sein, so dass ermĂŒdungsfreies und jederzeit sicheres Arbeiten garantiert ist.
SchĂ€rfe und Schneidhaltigkeit der Serie Briccole di Venezia werden sowohl durch die optimale HĂ€rte des GÜDE Klingenstahls mit ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) wie auch durch den GÜDE Watenwinkel von ca. 33 Grad sichergestellt. Die Form des Griffes, der Voll-Erl und der fĂŒr GÜDE typische Doppelkropf machen aus den Messern der Serie Briccole di Venezia ein zuverlĂ€ssiges Werkzeug, das perfekte Handhabung und Ausbalancierung garantiert.

SchĂ€rfe und Schneidhaltigkeit werden neben dem Klingenmaterial maßgeblich durch den Watenwinkel bestimmt: Schneiden ist wie das Treiben eines Keils durch ein Schneidgut. Je spitzer der Winkel des Keils, also der Watenwinkel ist, desto leichter lĂ€sst sich der Keil durch das Schneidgut treiben. Der Begriff Wate ist die Bezeichnung der Solinger Messermacher fĂŒr die Schneide, also, den scharf geschliffenen Teil eines Messers. Ein spitzer Watenwinkel macht ein Messer schĂ€rfer als ein stumpfer Watenwinkel. Bei einem zu spitzen Watenwinkel jedoch kann die Wate brechen. Deshalb haben die Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia von GÜDE einen optimalen Watenwinkel von ca. 33 Grad. Dieser Winkel garantiert sowohl SchĂ€rfe als auch StabilitĂ€t. Der Chrom- MolybdĂ€n-Vanadium-Klingenstahl der Serie Briccole di Venezia garantiert mit seiner HĂ€rte von ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) fĂŒr eine lang anhaltende SchĂ€rfe. Wichtig ist, immer auf einer geeigneten Schneidunterlage, z.B. aus Holz oder aus Kunststoff, zu schneiden. Die geradezu sprichwörtliche Ausgewogenheit der Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia ist ein Resultat des Doppelkropfes in Verbindung mit dem Voll-Erl. So entsteht ein Gegengewicht zur Klinge im Bereich des Griffes. FĂŒr den Anwender bedeutet dies: Perfekte Balance und ermĂŒdungsfreies Arbeiten bei stets sicherer Griffhaltung. Vorderer und hinterer Kropf umschließen die Hand und schĂŒtzen so vor ungewolltem Verrutschen auch bei grĂ¶ĂŸerem Krafteinsatz.

Die Messer der Serie Briccole di Venezia halten, was sich der Messerliebhaber von einem perfekten Messer verspricht. Von Hand gefertigt, im Gesenk aus einem StĂŒck geschmiedet, mit der Erfahrung Jahrhunderte alter Solinger Messermacherkunst.

Messer Solingen, GĂŒde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer

Brotmesser233,00

KlingenlÀnge 32cm / V431/32
LinkshĂ€nder: V431/32L / 253 €
R/L Variante: V431/32RL / 275 €