ALPHA Mikarta

The handles of this knife series are made of a fibre-synthetic resin composite, called Mikarta . Grinding the handles results in an individual structure and pattern, so that no two knives are alike. Like all the knives in the Alpha series, the blade of the Alpha Mikarta series is made of chrome-vanadium-molybdenum knife steel and forged by hand from a single piece of steel.

Find a dealer

More than 40 further manual operations are necessary to produce a unique piece of Solingen knifemaking art. Because of the Mikarta handles, these knives should not be put in the dishwasher. The blade is stainless, ice-hardened and of course hand-sharpened.

Knives Solingen, G├╝de knives, chef's knives Solingen, knife set, sharpening steel, solinger knives

Material

The blade material of knives has to meet a wide range of requirements, some of which are contradictory. It is therefore important to achieve an optimum between the different requirements. A knife steel should be hard, but not too hard, otherwise it would break. But it should also not be too soft, otherwise the knife would become blunt too quickly through wear. That is why the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series from G├ťDE are made of a chrome-molybdenum-vanadium knife steel that has an optimum hardness of approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell).

The hardness of the knife steel of the series Alpha Mikarta of 57-58 HRc is optimal for the different requirements that a good knife must fulfil.
Thanks to this hardness, the blade of the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series is torsion-resistant and thus guarantees exact guidance of the knife and thus a precise cut.

Production

Knives in the Alpha Mikarta series are drop-forged from one piece of steel. Drop forging ensures high material strength even under dynamic stresses. During drop forging, the entire forging blank is heated and deformed. In up to 55 further steps, the forged blank is turned into a unique handmade knife from the knife manufactory G├ťDE.

After the knives have been roughly ground, calibrated and cleaned, the so-called ice-hardening process follows: the knives are cooled to -80 ┬░C to improve the microstructure in the blade steel. In the next step, the knives are tempered in two stages, i.e. heated again and thus made unbreakable. The blade is then pre-ground, followed by pre-grinding of the back of the knife. This is followed by the fine grinding of the back of the knife and the sharpening of the bolster. The inside of the handle is now pre-ground. Pre-grinding of the bolsters is done in 5 steps. This is followed by the fine grinding of the blade. This is also called "pliestening". The handle scales are now adapted to the knife handle. Then the holes for the rivets are drilled. A countersink must be made in the holes for the rivet heads. The handle and the blade are now joined by rivets. The handle scales are roughly ground on the tang and bolster in about five operations. These five operations must be repeated with a finer abrasive belt. Now the back of the knife gets the finest grinding. The fine grinding of the front bolster follows and the knife handles are pre-polished. Then the central decorative rivet is mounted and the handles are finely polished. Then the knife edge, also called the bevel, is ground (stripped) and the trigger is polished. In the next step, the G├ťDE logo is etched onto the blade. Then the knives are cleaned and the quality is checked. After that, the knives are put into a sheath for protection. Finally, the shipping bags are fitted with rivets and appropriate labels. The finished knives are now sent to the warehouse for shipping.

Form

In drop forging, the design language is free from the tip of the blade to the end of the handle. A design language like that of Alpha Mikarta is only possible in the drop-forging process. That is why G├ťDE has remained true to this proven forging technology since its founding in 1910, now in its fourth generation. An unmistakable feature of many series from G├ťDE is the so-called double bolster. A bolster is the thickening of the blade steel. The (front) bolster between the handle and the blade serves both as finger protection and balance weight. The second bolster at the end of the handle gives the knives a better balance. This guarantees the user pleasant and fatigue-free work.

The tang is the part of the steel to which the handle of a knife is attached. If the tang goes from the blade to the end of the handle, it is called a full tang. The knives in the Alpha Mikarta series from G├ťDE all have a full tang, as this gives a better balance of the weight.
Since the full tang is completely visible from above and below over the entire length of the handle, it virtually proves that the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series are forged from one piece. No seam, no material transition - simply drop-forged from one piece.

Function

A good knife must be sharp, stay sharp, fit well in the hand and be balanced so that fatigue-free and safe work is guaranteed at all times.
The hardness of the G├ťDE blade steel with approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) and the G├ťDE bevel angle of approx. 33 degrees ensure optimum sharpness and edge retention of the Alpha Mikarta series. The shape of the handle, the full tang and the double bolster typical of G├ťDE guarantee perfect handling and balance of the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series.

In terms of sharpness and edge retention, the bevel angle is of particular importance: because cutting is "physically" the driving of a wedge through a material to be cut. The more acute the angle of the wedge, i.e. the bevel angle, the better this works. The blade angle is the knifemakers' term for the cutting edge, i.e. the sharply ground part of a knife. A sharp bevel angle makes a knife sharper than a dull bevel angle. However, if the bevel angle is too acute, the bevel can break. That is why the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series from G├ťDE have an optimum bevel angle of approx. 33 degrees. This angle guarantees sharpness and stability at the same time. The chrome-molybdenum-vanadium knife steel of the Alpha Mikarta series with its hardness of approx. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) ensures that the sharpness lasts for a long time. The prerequisite is cutting on a suitable cutting surface, e.g. wood or plastic. The proverbial balance of the knives in the Alpha Mikarta series is achieved thanks to the double bolster in combination with the full tang, which creates a counterweight to the blade in the handle area. For the user, this means perfect balance and fatigue-free work. A secure grip is always guaranteed. The front and rear bolsters enclose the hand and protect it from slipping, even when greater force is applied. The knives in the Alpha Mikarta series deliver what the hobby chef expects from a perfect knife. Handmade, drop-forged from one piece, with the experience of centuries of Solingen knifemaking.

ALPHA Mikarta

Die Griffe dieser Messerserie sind aus einem Faser-Kunstharz-Verbund, Mikarta genannt. Beim Schleifen der Griffe ergibt sich eine individuelle Struktur und Musterung, so dass kein Messer dem anderen gleicht. Wie alle Messer der Alpha-Serien, so ist auch die Klinge der Serie Alpha Mikarta aus Chrom-Vanadium-MolybdĂ€n Messerstahl aus einem StĂŒck Stahl von Hand geschmiedet.

HĂ€ndler finden

Mehr als 40 weitere manuelle ArbeitsgĂ€nge von Hand sind notwendig, um daraus ein Unikat Solinger Messermacher-Kunst zu fertigen. Aufgrund der Mikarta-Griffe sollten diese Messer nicht in den GeschirrspĂŒler. Die Klinge ist rostfrei, eisgehĂ€rtet und natĂŒrlich handgeschĂ€rft.

Messer Solingen, Güde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer

Material

An das Klingenmaterial von Messern sind eine FĂŒlle von Anforderungen zu stellen, die sich zum Teil widersprechen. Also gilt es, ein Optimum zwischen den verschiedenen Anforderungen zu realisieren. So soll ein Messerstahl hart sein, jedoch nicht zu hart, da er ansonsten brechen wĂŒrde. Er soll aber auch nicht zu weich sein, da das Messer sonst durch Abnutzung zu schnell stumpf werden wĂŒrde. Daher sind die Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta von GÜDE aus einem Chrom- MolybdĂ€n-Vanadium-Messerstahl gefertigt, der eine optimale HĂ€rte von ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) hat.

Die HĂ€rte des Messerstahls der Serie Alpha Mikarta von 57-58 HRc ist optimal fĂŒr die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen, die ein gutes Messer erfĂŒllen muss.
Dank dieser HĂ€rte ist die Klinge der Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta verwindungssteif und garantiert somit ein exaktes FĂŒhren des Messers und damit einen prĂ€zisen Schnitt.

Herstellung

Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta werden aus einem StĂŒck Stahl im Gesenk geschmiedet. Das Schmieden im Gesenk sorgt fĂŒr eine hohe Materialfestigkeit auch bei dynamischen Beanspruchungen. Beim Gesenkschmieden wird der gesamte Schmiede-Rohling erwĂ€rmt und verformt. In weiteren bis zu 55 Arbeitsschritten wird aus dem geschmiedeten Rohling ein handgefertigtes Unikat aus der Messer-Manufaktur GÜDE.

Nachdem die Messer grob geschliffen, kalibriert und gereinigt worden sind, folgt die sogenannte EishĂ€rtung: Die Messer werden auf -80 °C abgekĂŒhlt, um die GefĂŒgestruktur im Klingenstahl zu verbessern. Im nĂ€chsten Schritt werden die Messer in zwei Stufen angelassen, d.h. erneut erhitzt und damit bruchsicher gemacht. Anschließend wird das Klingenblatt vorgeschliffen, danach erfolgt das Vorschleifen des MesserrĂŒckens. Es folgt der Feinschliff des MesserrĂŒckens und das Spitzschleifen des Kropfes. Die Innenseiten des Griffes werden nun vorgeschliffen. Das Vorschleifen der Kröpfe erfolgt in 5 Arbeitsschritten. Daraufhin folgt das Feinschleifen des Klingenblattes. Dies nennt sich auch „pliesten“. Die Griffschalen werden nun an den Messergriff angepasst. Anschließend werden die Löcher fĂŒr die Nieten gebohrt. FĂŒr die Nietköpfe muss in den Löchern eine Senkung vorgenommen werden. GriffstĂŒck und Klinge werden nun durch Nieten verbunden. Mit ca. fĂŒnf ArbeitsgĂ€ngen werden die Griffschalen grob an Erl und Kropf beigeschliffen. Diese fĂŒnf ArbeitsgĂ€nge mĂŒssen mit einem feineren Schleifband wiederholt werden. Jetzt bekommt der MesserrĂŒcken den Feinstschliff. Das Feinstschleifen des vorderen Kropfes folgt und die Messergriffe werden vorpoliert. Anschließend wird die mittlere Schmuckniete montiert und die Griffe werden feinpoliert. Daraufhin wird die Messerschneide, auch Wate genannt, geschliffen (abgezogen) und der Abzug poliert. Im nĂ€chsten Schritt wird das GÜDE Logo auf die Klinge geĂ€tzt. Anschließend werden die Messer gereinigt und die QualitĂ€t kontrolliert. Danach kommen die Messer zum Schutz in eine HĂŒlle. Zum Schluss werden die Versandtaschen mit Nieten und entsprechenden Etiketten versehen. Die fertigen Messer gehen nun fĂŒr den Versand ans Lager.

Form

Beim Gesenkschmieden ist die Formensprache frei von der Klingenspitze bis zum Griffende. Eine Formensprache wie bei Alpha Mikarta ist nur im Gesenkschmiede-Verfahren möglich. Deshalb bleibt GÜDE dieser bewĂ€hrten Schmiede-Technologie seit dem GrĂŒndungsjahr 1910 nun schon in vierter Generation treu. Unverkennbares Merkmal vieler Serien von GÜDE ist der sogenannte Doppelkropf. Als Kropf bezeichnet man die Verdickung des Klingenstahls. Der (vordere) Kropf zwischen Griff und Klinge dient als Fingerschutz und Balancegewicht gleichermaßen. Durch den zweiten Kropf am Griffende bekommen die Messer eine ausgewogenere Balance. So ist dem Anwender angenehmes und ermĂŒdungsfreies Arbeiten garantiert.

Als Erl bezeichnet man den Teil des Stahls, an dem der Griff eines Messers befestigt ist. Geht der Erl von der Klinge bis zum Ende des Griffes, so spricht man vom Voll-Erl. Die Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta von GÜDE haben durchweg einen Voll-Erl, da sich dadurch eine bessere Ausbalancierung des Gewichts ergibt.
Da der Voll-Erl ĂŒber die gesamte GrifflĂ€nge sowohl von oben als auch von unten komplett sichtbar ist, liefert er quasi den Beweis, dass die Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta aus einem StĂŒck geschmiedet sind. Keine Naht, kein MaterialĂŒbergang – eben aus einem StĂŒck im Gesenk geschmiedet.

Funktion

Ein gutes Messer muss scharf sein, scharf bleiben, gut in der Hand liegen und ausbalanciert sein, so dass ermĂŒdungsfreies und jederzeit sicheres Arbeiten garantiert ist.
Die HĂ€rte des GÜDE Klingenstahls mit ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) und der GÜDE Watenwinkel von ca. 33 Grad stellen eine optimale SchĂ€rfe und Schneidhaltigkeit der Serie Alpha Mikarta sicher. Die Form des Griffes, der Voll-Erl und der fĂŒr GÜDE typische Doppelkropf garantieren eine perfekte Handhabung und Ausbalancierung der Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta.

Hinsichtlich SchĂ€rfe und Schneidhaltigkeit kommt dem Watenwinkel eine besondere Bedeutung zu: Denn Schneiden ist “physikalisch” das Treiben eines Keils durch ein Schneidgut. Das geht umso besser, je spitzer der Winkel des Keils, also der Watenwinkel ist. Wate ist die Bezeichnung der Messermacher fĂŒr die Schneide, also, den scharf geschliffenen Teil eines Messers. Ein spitzer Watenwinkel macht ein Messer schĂ€rfer als ein stumpfer Watenwinkel. Ist der Watenwinkel jedoch zu spitz, kann die Wate brechen. Daher haben die Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta von GÜDE einen optimalen Watenwinkel von ca. 33 Grad. Dieser Winkel garantiert SchĂ€rfe und StabilitĂ€t zugleich. Der Chrom- MolybdĂ€n-Vanadium-Messerstahl der Serie Alpha Mikarta sorgt mit seiner HĂ€rte von ca. 57-58 HRc (Rockwell) dafĂŒr, dass die SchĂ€rfe lange anhĂ€lt. Voraussetzung ist das Schneiden auf einer geeigneten Schneidunterlage, z.B. aus Holz oder aus Kunststoff. Die sprichwörtliche Ausgewogenheit der Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta entsteht dank des Doppelkropfes in Verbindung mit dem Voll-Erl. So entsteht ein Gegengewicht zur Klinge im Griffbereich. FĂŒr den Anwender heißt das perfekte Balance und ermĂŒdungsfreies Arbeiten. Dabei ist eine sichere Griffhaltung stets garantiert. Denn vorderer und hinterer Kropf umschließen die Hand und schĂŒtzen so vor ungewolltem Verrutschen auch bei grĂ¶ĂŸerem Krafteinsatz. Die Messer der Serie Alpha Mikarta halten, was sich der Hobbykoch von einem perfekten Messer verspricht. Von Hand gefertigt, im Gesenk aus einem StĂŒck geschmiedet, mit der Erfahrung Jahrhunderte alter Solinger Messermacherkunst.

Messer Solingen, GĂŒde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer

Kochmesser151,00

KlingenlÀnge 21cm / M805/21

Messer Solingen, GĂŒde Messer, Kochmesser Solingen, Messerset, wetzstahl, solinger messer

Spickmesser76,00

KlingenlÀnge 10cm / M764/10